We Rode for Those Who Died

Well, the observant amongst you will have noticed that I didn’t post a blog about Day 2 of the Police Unity Tour 2014. Don’t worry, I did complete it, and also Day 3 as well.

I’m now safely back home and resting tired limbs and still buzzing from a great 3 days.

So, back to the ride. Day 2 started (not so) bright and early as we rolled out of Milton Keynes heading for a day largely spent on the A5 towards Tamworth. Negotiating a series of roundabouts before eventually escaping from Milton Keynes. The one thing missing from the stay in Milton Keynes was seeing those concrete cows! Still I think I can cope with the disappointment.

So we set off up the A5. The weather was a complete contrast from the day before. The baking heat and the sunshine were replaced by heavy skies that threatened rain. The biggest decision for most riders was rain jacket or not. I chose no rain jacket, but was sensible enough to wear my overshoes. If it rained at least I had a fighting change of dryish feet.

The A5 takes us through Pottersbury and the Rudolph Steiner School there. I have visited that place a number of times in the past as my brother attended the school for a time. I have to say they looked after him very well.

Shortly after Pottersbury, we rolled into the pretty little town of Towcester. This signified the first refreshment stop of the day which was at the local police station, with lots of juice, tea and coffee and home made cakes. The station staff had done us proud.

One thing did happen during this stop. The rains started. They were to remain with us most of the morning! Riding in the wet with 70+ other cyclists in a tight group, none of whom has mudguards is a challenge . The spray is difficult to avoid getting in the face.

So after Towcester Police Station we rode along the fast rolling terrain of the A5. Regular layby stops to allow the traffic to pass meant we could also take on board more drinks. Despite the rain it was still very warm today.

We got as far as Rugby services where we stopped for a toilet and refreshment break and to stop long enough for the heaviest rain of the day to catch up with us as we set off again.

Being such a formidable squad of riders, we rode ourselves ahead of the rain, so we stopped to let the rain catch up with us and soak us again. Once the rain had got sufficiently far ahead we set off again to catch it up again.

After 48 miles we reached our lunch stops at the Hinckley Island Hotel. This was a special stop. It is the hotel used by the COPS Charity for their survivors weekend. We had a buffet lunch with the survivors. Hearing their stories and listening to their gratitude to us was very moving. I struggle to understand why those whose loved ones made the ultimate sacrifice are so grateful to me for riding my bike. They are the ones doing something difficult. I am just enjoying myself riding my bike with some great company. To raise funds for COPS is an honour and pleasure.

After lunch it was a short 16 – 17 miles to Tamworth. This was much flatter than the morning sector, but it did have one hill near the end. This brought a sight that to me summed up the ride. We ride 2 by 2, and I was in the third row on the road. In front were 2 female survivors and 2 experienced cyclists. As the ladies strained on the hills, the 2 male riders gently pushed the ladies up the hill with one hand as they rode. A gesture of the Unity this ride is all about. Lee & Rob, take a bow. The footage below is a poor attempt at capturing that display of Unity.

Showing Unity

 

After arriving at the Holiday Inn Express we checked into our hotel. Our room was interesting as it initially had no power at all. no lights, no TV no air conditioning etc. This was worrying as we had to shower quickly and get down to a Chapter meeting and awards ceremony. Fortunately the staff at the hotel were very efficient and fixed the problem.

A couple of swift beers then into the awards ceremony where everyone got a medal and certificate for their achievements. Other awards were made to honour those who went over and beyond the cause of duty.

Then it was time to go back to the bar before heading out to for a curry with a group of us going to the restaurant recommended by one of our riders from last year. It seemed to be not the best decision. For some the service was a cause for complaint, for others it was the food. Me, I just kept drinking – for some reason I got an extra beer each round. It seemed whoever was ordering the beer had got an extra pint, so I wasn’t complaining.

At dinner I got talking to a fellow rider who was originally from the North East. It was fascinating to know we had lots of mutual acquaintances and had been to lots of the same matches. I am certain we must have met at matches in the past. Its a small world, especially when a mutual acquaintance texted me whilst I was talking to the officer!

Back to the hotel and I was going for an early night. Yeah, right… was its about 1:30 when I finally had an empty glass and an empty wallet. So off to bed it was to disrupt my room mates sleep with my snoring and other noises! I really should not drink bitter when sharing a room!

That was Day two finally over.

Day three started before 0600 when my room mate is up and heading for a shower before breakfast. Awake, it was up and down for breakfast after a quick shower, then time to get set for the last day of the Tour. The ride was only supposed to be 10 miles (11+ after a detour – more about that later), but it is a very emotional day, riding into the memorial to be greeted by the crowds of senior police officers and families of survivors and then after the emotionally charged memorial service, it is time to meet the family of the officer I was riding in memory of.

The ride itself today was relatively easy with only one real climb and that was short. However, somehow we went a different route and took in a 1/2 mile climb before realising the ride was going the wrong way and turning back. There was still time for another crash before we got to the memorial. We had a 50 minute wait  before riding into the memorial

The Ride Into The memorial

 

At the end of the ride, we presented a cheque for £40,000 to COPS. Thanks to those who have donated. If you have not already done so, you still have time to donate via my just giving page

After the memorial service, I went to the Northumbria memorial and met Caroline Caroll the widow of Joe Carroll who was killed in 2006 near Corbridge. An accident scene I pass every time I am in the North East. It was lovely to meet Carol and Joe’s sisters, and their partners. It was a sad occasion as well as being uplifting if that is not a contradiction in terms. I was truly honoured to do the ride in his memory. I was incredibly touched when one of Joe’s sister made a very generous donation to the COPS charity. This is incredibly generous and much appreciated if unexpected.

IMG_20140719_183342

Finally it was time to say hello and goodbye to my parents and brother who had come down to the memorial. Sadly I had to rush to get my train to London. Getting the 13:35 train from Lichfield, I eventually got home at 19:00 after a slow train journey, a wait of well over an hour for the bikes to return to New Scotland Yard and a delayed / diverted train journey home afterwards.

 

I have had a fantastic 3 days with a great bunch raising money for a great charity and having a blast at the same time. 24th July 2015 is when we should be rolling again. I can’t wait!

RIDE STATISTICS

UK Unity Tour 2014 Day 1

UK Unity Tour 2014 Day 2

UK Police Unity Tour 2014 Day 3

About Spen

I'm a 50 something football fan and occasional cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds previously. I have 1 left to rejoin the 92 club. Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I now am one of the organising committee for the UK Police Unity Tour (www.ukpoliceunitytour.org ) I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in UK Police Unity Tour. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment