2016 UK Police Unity Tour 

So today was the first day of the UK Police Unity Tour 2016.  Approximately 120 riders set off from 5 locations heading towards the National  Memorial Arboretum in Staffordshire. 

It is great to see the number of rides increasing every year.  I rode with Chapter 1 from the National Police Memorial in London.  Our destination today was Milton Keynes.  

There were around discrimination 50 riders who left London Estate opted by the Met Police Motorbikes.  We were honoured to be joined by riders from Chapter 1, 8 and 37 from the USA Police Unity Tour and 2 Survivors. 

We completed just short of 86bm8les today,  including 3000 feet of climbing.  We had rain,  torrential rain,  heat,  cold,  sun.  You name it we had it.  

There were 6 riders today who have taken part in all 4 UK Police Unity Tour rides. I am honoured to be one of them. 

Every rider wears a wristband engraved with the name of a fallen officer. We will be presenting the band to the family of our officer on Sunday when we complete the ride. 

The ride is to raise funds for COPS,  the charity who support families of police officers killed in the line of duty.  You can sponsor me at http://www.justgiving.com/Peter-Bennett666 

It is a great charity.  Please donate a few quid. The price of a pint of beer can make a huge difference to this charity.  If I can,  a very fat git,   cycle 160 miles for this charity,  you can give a few quid to the cause

About Spen

I'm a 50 something football fan and occasional cyclist. I've been a football fanatic most of my life and have completed the 92 football league & premier league grounds previously. I have 1 left to rejoin the 92 club. Added to this numerous non league grounds, a number abroad and you start to get the picture. I took up cycling in around 2000. Although my father was a former World Vets Champion, I got into cycling accompanying my son to ride in London. This was followed by my commuting to work each day into Central London. Then doing some Sunday rides, then some audax events (www.audax.uk.net) and then a week's cycling holiday in France with a friend. From there, I got more and more into cycling and in 2009 completed LEJoG and in 2010 rode in the USA with the Police Unity Tour. I completed blogs for those events at www.aminearlythere.blogspot.com and www.bothesidesofthepond.blogspot.com Feel free to read them and learn more about me. I now am one of the organising committee for the UK Police Unity Tour (www.ukpoliceunitytour.org ) I live alone which suits me as it gives me time at weekends to pursue my interests of cycling and football. (Well what did you expect me to say? That I'm sad at being single?) I'm currently looking for my next challenge. Any suggestions gratefully received.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment